Skip to main content

Single ladies: Wife material

MPV.....my point of view!
Single Ladies: Wifen Material

*Royal wave*Hey single ladies,your guide is back.The pursuit for Mr Put-A-Ring-On-It is on.Today I would like to make you a get-a-ring-on-it lady.

Now following my articles,'Single Ladies Part 3',where I talked about the prince searching for a 'real princess',or 'Queen';and 'Brown Sugar',where the word 'brown sugar' was defined as wifen material,I would like to talk about 'wifey material'.(Whether we are that).

How do we single ladies get that ring-on-it,you ask?By being wifey material.My uncle keeps on telling me,'If you want to become Mrs X,you should be a wife.You are a wife before he puts a ring on it'.What he means is that,a man will treat you the way you portray yourself.How,you ask?

Ever noticed the difference between a wife and a girlfriend.Now let me break it down for you.A girlfriend usually,takes life in a more leisurely way;unlike a wife,whose focus is more long-term.(This does not mean that girlfriends cannot be wives).However,when Mr Put-A-Ring-On-It is looking for a Mrs,he is looking for 'wifen' qualities.

Some of the qualities I know are,a woman who can be approved of by his family,(muroora type),a mature individual,focused,laid-back,domesticated,etc.Church guys are always talking about a 'Proverbs 31' woman.(This is the actual ideal wife).

But my question is,and this is posed at the 'men' out there,what do you consider as 'wifey material'?

I ask this,because from my personal experience,I would not appear to be 'wifey material'.I am loud,opinionated and yes,YOLO is my motto.My tiny frame deceives,because I look like a teenager.(So no one actually believes that I am a mother).

So,in a situation where Mr Put-A-Ring-On-It,maybe meets me during my awkward moments,(not really awkward,I'll just be myself).What will be going through his mind?And since it has been said that 'first impressions last',what impression would I leave?

I am kind of like an onion,(many layers),and a diamond,(with many faces and sometimes rough edges),so one cannot make a conclusion about my qualities upon meeting me.I do believe that I am 'wife y material',it is only 'unfortunate' that I am perceived as less,per se.(*sad*I do want to be Mrs X).

Again,gentleman,define 'wife y material',for us single ladies.How does a lady portray the 'good wife' without being an actress,(cause y'all there are some women who deserve Oscars for the 'pretend wives').Does she have to wear a french maid's uniform and a feather duster to show that she is domesticated;or be good pals with Jaime Oliver to prove her culinary skills;or should she wear a church uniform to prove 'saint-hood'.And then there is that terrible,but catchy song that 'curses',us beautiful women,'....if you wanna be happy for the rest of your life,never make a pretty woman your wife....'.Seriously???(And what if I am the total package;beauty,brains,and character,am I to be labelled as a 'troublemaker';and not be justified as 'wife y potential'?)

Mr Put-A-Ring-On-It,you meet single lady in an LBD on her girls night out,(perception:slut);she is always dressed to the nines,(perception:high maintenance);she dresses modestly (and probably is an accountant/marketer),(perception:boring);she has piercings and/or tattoos,(perception:freak,or wild);or she has a mind of her own,and she speaks it,(perception:feminist,or bully).Yes,visual perception,with misguided expectations which lead to incorrect assumptions which cloud Mr Put-A-Ring-On-It's judgement,so single lady misses out on her chance of being Mrs X because of that.

My definition of 'wifey' is woman divinely chosen for a certain man.She suits him,like a hand in a glove.She is not perfect,but she is willing to learn.She is woman with vision but understands that 'Rome was not built in one day'.Not having OCD,but ensures that cleanliness is next to Godliness,(a reflection of the deity realm where she came from).She understands the dynamics of life,relationships and family,so she will make effort to compromise so as to keep the peace.And yes,her man is King,so she will desire to make him happy.(Each day of their 12 000 days of marriage...'til death do us part'.)

So single ladies,let us be the 'wife'.I think that working towards being a Proverbs 31 woman truly makes one 'a good thing',(He who finds a wife,finds a good thing).However do not act,remember that you have to be real,true,and 'outstanding',so as to win 'the bachelor's' heart.(Be the she who 'surpasses them all').

We end here today,until we meet again single ladies,(or should I say 'wifeys'),our quest continues.....

P.S: Always write your own love story.

Ciao!

Lady E

NB:Follow my blog,'MPV.....my point of view!' at www.therealladye@blogspot.com

[c]Copyright MPV by Lady E All Rights Reserved 2013

Comments

Popular Posts

I'm Ready

Por qué me siento así, mi amor? Lo podemos culpar a Cupido!   Bring on the tissues, and a tub of ice cream, and Amarula cream. Cupid really picked on me and not at the best time. And then 'Stupid Cupid' starts playing. Bonjour single ladies! Forgive me for the dramatic entrance, but I feel like a hopelessly enamoured teenager. Remember  le garçon du chocolat ? Oui. Well, what started off as a crush, has developed into more. Could I be in-love? Umm... But I think that the sparks have fizzled out on his end. Throwing myself on the couch.  Why am I this person, though? Am I setting myself up for possibly another heartbreak after recovering from a not so recent one? Like, le garçon du chocolat lives rent free in my mind, and mostly in my dreams. Am I supposed to feel like this actually? Gosh, I feel so embarrassed with my grown self.   So while, I'm manoeuvring through my emotions, let's talk about starting all over again with a renewed perspective. Gather around ladies,...

Inspired By A Thread

Colour blind is ignorance when all you see is red... ...learn your colours! Oi, you lovely lot! Whaddup, 'ow's it goin'? I’m gettin’ there, innit? Just takin’ me time, you know how it is. A while ago, I scrolled down my timeline, and I came across an interesting thread on X. Actually the responses were wild, but it had me thinking, I would love my readers to share their own experiences. The question was as follows; What was the craziest thing that you've done to investigate a man? Fam, the responses in this thread are worthy of scripts. Don't play with a woman who wants the truth. She has better investigative skills than any intelligence agency. This led me - actually inspired me to share my own personal experiences. My life is so ironical. I like keeping my relationships on the low because my ego can't handle the humiliation if things don't work out. However, drama seems to ensue whenever I decide to allow a male into my space. Of late, I realised that I ...

Script My Life: Bad Hair

My relationship with hair extensions will never be the same! It's spooky season and what a time for all things that make your stomach churn, and eyes pop! For most of this series, I review romantic comedies and dramas. The big screen allows me to live vicariously through stories and characters. I can escape my mundane life and all the imperfections in between. I can be anything that I want, through whichever character that I relate to. Funny enough I love horror and thrillers! I love the adrenalin rush of frightening encounters with the paranormal, or mentally unhinged. Most horrors or thrillers often follow a generic pattern, however there those that take the cup for scares. I will never watch 'The Exorcist' and 'The Nun' again! Apart from being scary, I am not playing with all that supernatural stuff. And here we are, watching Hulu's new flick, 'Bad Hair'. Ever since the trailer, I have been religiously following the interviews. In one interview, the f...

The Case of the Ghost

If you decide to ghost, then stay dead! I'm riled up and thinking WTF? Who the hell does he think he is? Trying to walk out of the tomb like the Messiah! Degage! But I also realised that I wasn't over it. IT! The hurt and humiliation of being ghosted. The humiliation of being relegated to  side  chick.  And the pain of going through loss alone. Who the hell does he think he is ... in my life? After many years, I bumped into him at a recent event. Actually, he called out my name and followed me. I don't know why he thought that he and I were Gucci. For two years, that guy was a poltergeist.He didn't reach out to me to explain his behaviour. He didn't send me a birthday message. No communication. Obviously, out of sight, out of mind.And then he has the nerve to call out my full government name. Honestly, I was inebriated and had no time for his nonsense. But he started saying that he and I needed to talk. He thought that I was his girl. He missed me. I'm literally...

Winter ABC Day 14: 5 Africans Who Inspire Me

I told you that this week is awesome! I love Africa! I love the people even more! I love our diversity in skin tones. I love our various languages that include clicks, coughs and long syllables. Our traditions may differ but they are somewhat intertwined. Africa isn't just the cradle of mankind. It is the stew pot of talent, intelligence and creativity. I procrastinated for a long time about writing about my African inspirations. With this challenge I have the opportunity to take action. My top 5 list includes creatives from various genres of media, arts and entertainment. As a creative myself,  I incline naturally towards those who are like myself. It is true that, 'birds of the same feather, flock together,' and away do I fly with the eagles. Without further due, below are the 5 Africans who inspire me. 1. Bonang Matheba Did you know that Bonang Matheba and I were born a week and a half apart in 1987? Now you know! I live vicariously through queen B!  She is my ...