Skip to main content

Trends: Talent Shows

Ever watched a tv show,only to feel completely useless after that.Look at it this way,an 8 year old belts out ''i will always love you",or a 14 year old who can play seven musical instruments at one goal,or the plus size woman who can dance to any musical genre and does better splits than a cheerleader.Seriously???

I think that one of the most fascinating reality tv shows are the talent shows.Something's Got Talent,So You Think You Can Dance?,The Clash of The Choirs and The X-Factor,amongst other programmes.YEP.this world has got some talented people and it kind of sucks if you do not have even a centimetre of that talent.

I think the worst thing about these shows are the judges.Simon Cowell anyone?The meanest judge in tv history.I always wait to hear what Simon says about the individual auditioning before I comment on how talented that individual is.But yeas if an individual is good,they are really good.I was happy when Simon let Leona Lewis win in the first ever X-Factor,and when he took back Melanie Amarro in the fdirst season of X-Factor USA.(That girl can saaang).He does know talent when he sees,or should I say,hear it.

My question to y'all though is,what is your talent?What X-Factor do you possess?Moreso,what are you doing about it.Yes we have had a few talent shows on tv locally,(though nothing spectacular to my expectations),but we really have not tapped into the real talent that is around us.Again sometimes I blame,yes,blame our elders for not supporting talent.We are taught to go to school and get a job.("Zvemagitare hazvibhadhare!''.Well it would pay,if you put a little funding into it and supported it).

I think it is high time we took talents such as singing,dancing,acting,djying,production,comedy,seriously.People make millions out of their talents.That is why these reality tv shows on talent get so much viewership and contestants fight so hard to get that record deal.Yes,parents your children can take you out of poverty,or give you an early retirement.(Just ask Bieber's mum,or even Joe Jackson).

Education is good.It is a solid foundation for all of us.And an individual can be educated on their talent.Overseas there are dance academies,schools to learn to play instruments and even acting school.

YES,we have the X-Factor locally.It is time that we allowed it to shine.

I know my X-Factor.It is my point of view.

P.S:Always write your own love story.

Ciao!

Lady E

[c]Copyright MPV by Lady E All Rights Reserved 2013

Comments

Popular Posts

I'm Ready

Por qué me siento así, mi amor? Lo podemos culpar a Cupido!   Bring on the tissues, and a tub of ice cream, and Amarula cream. Cupid really picked on me and not at the best time. And then 'Stupid Cupid' starts playing. Bonjour single ladies! Forgive me for the dramatic entrance, but I feel like a hopelessly enamoured teenager. Remember  le garçon du chocolat ? Oui. Well, what started off as a crush, has developed into more. Could I be in-love? Umm... But I think that the sparks have fizzled out on his end. Throwing myself on the couch.  Why am I this person, though? Am I setting myself up for possibly another heartbreak after recovering from a not so recent one? Like, le garçon du chocolat lives rent free in my mind, and mostly in my dreams. Am I supposed to feel like this actually? Gosh, I feel so embarrassed with my grown self.   So while, I'm manoeuvring through my emotions, let's talk about starting all over again with a renewed perspective. Gather around ladies,...

Inspired By A Thread

Colour blind is ignorance when all you see is red... ...learn your colours! Oi, you lovely lot! Whaddup, 'ow's it goin'? I’m gettin’ there, innit? Just takin’ me time, you know how it is. A while ago, I scrolled down my timeline, and I came across an interesting thread on X. Actually the responses were wild, but it had me thinking, I would love my readers to share their own experiences. The question was as follows; What was the craziest thing that you've done to investigate a man? Fam, the responses in this thread are worthy of scripts. Don't play with a woman who wants the truth. She has better investigative skills than any intelligence agency. This led me - actually inspired me to share my own personal experiences. My life is so ironical. I like keeping my relationships on the low because my ego can't handle the humiliation if things don't work out. However, drama seems to ensue whenever I decide to allow a male into my space. Of late, I realised that I ...

Take Care

“I know that you’ve been hurt, by someone else I can tell by the way, you carry yourself But if you let me, here’s what I’ll do I’ll take care of you.”-Take Care, Drake featuring Rihanna So in the episode 9 of season 3 of ‘ 2 Broke Girls ’ Max tries to get into pastry school after Caroline finds out that she had interest in being a pastry chef through a brochure found under Max’s mattress. Max is assigned to make a tart as a form of ‘interview’ and the head chef, Nicolas approves of the tart however Max receives a letter of regret saying that she didn’t get into the pastry school. Max decides to confront the chef who tells her that it was her attitude that he had a problem with and not her tart. According to Chef Nicolas, “You seemed like you didn’t want it,” and then Max replies, “I act like I don’t want it because I have never gotten what I wanted!” There, right there is where I related to Max, the part of life (and people) rejecting you to the point that you become indifferent ...

Single ladies: Wife material

MPV.....my point of view! Single Ladies: Wifen Material *Royal wave*Hey single ladies,your guide is back.The pursuit for Mr Put-A-Ring-On-It is on.Today I would like to make you a get-a-ring-on-it lady. Now following my articles,'Single Ladies Part 3',where I talked about the prince searching for a 'real princess',or 'Queen';and 'Brown Sugar',where the word 'brown sugar' was defined as wifen material,I would like to talk about 'wifey material'.(Whether we are that). How do we single ladies get that ring-on-it,you ask?By being wifey material.My uncle keeps on telling me,'If you want to become Mrs X,you should be a wife.You are a wife before he puts a ring on it'.What he means is that,a man will treat you the way you portray yourself.How,you ask? Ever noticed the difference between a wife and a girlfriend.Now let me break it down for you.A girlfriend usually,takes life in a more leisurely way;unlike a wife,whose focus is mo...